Skip to content

Welcome to The Spice of Life Challenge

June 26, 2009

I like to read and I also like to cook. I’m quite the amateur when it comes to cooking, but I certainly appreciate a good meal. Nevertheless, I wanted to put my two hobbies together.

The Spice of Life Challenge, then, deals with something we all like, at least to some extent: food. Although it crosses over with some challenges that happened in the past, it is a new chance to read some of those books that you love to get to and to share them with others.

I’m most excited to hear what everyone else chose to read, so I encourage you to come back and share your thoughts on the books you’ve read.

If you don’t have a blog and would like to participate, you can still add your reviews to the comments section.

I’m hoping to have an edible prize of some kind for participants. However, I’m not sure about the logistics of mailing something like cookies internationally, and I wouldn’t want to have a prize that international people can’t participate in. Anyone know the rules? I’m also not sure I have the funds (especially internationally), so I’d happily take a sponsor :).

I’m Rebecca and I normally blog about books at Rebecca Reads and I blog about eating (i.e., my attempts to feed my family) at Rebecca’s Cooking Journal.  Contact me at rebecca [at] rebeccareid [dot] com with any questions.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2009 9:00 pm

    I LOVE the button Rebecca (and the whole blog)! You’re so marvelous at design. Now I’m off to read more about the challenge. 🙂

  2. June 27, 2009 11:57 am

    Thanks, Eva, I enjoy it.

  3. July 3, 2009 1:56 pm

    How many books do we have to read to complete the challenge?

  4. July 3, 2009 2:13 pm

    Hi Wendy, details are here. There are three options for participation:
    * A Taste: 2 books from any of two of the categories
    * A Sampler: 4 books, a book from each category
    * A Feast: 6 books from at least three of the categories.
    I hope you consider it!

Leave a Reply

