Skip to content

Reading Update

August 31, 2009

How is your reading progress? What are your favorite reads so far? I’m really enjoying my choices, and I think my favorite has been A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg (a memoir) and Pretend Soup (a pre-schooler cookbook).

It seems Julia Child is everywhere, thanks to Julie Powell’s memoir. What did you think of the movie? Have you seen it yet?

I’m hoping I may sneak in the book and the movie of Julie and Julia soon. I keep hearing great things!

Keep reading!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2009 8:05 am

    My reading is going well. I’ve done several cookbooks and one non-fiction. I’m starting another non-fiction soon. Either Salt or The Billionaire’s Vinegar. My last read was The Fortune Cookie Chronicles and I learned everything one would ever want to know about Chinese Food, resturants, fortune cookies in the USA. It was very in depth and interesting.

  2. September 2, 2009 11:41 am

    Hi Rebecca,
    I have posted my first review of a book for The Spice of Life Reading Challenge. You can see it at my place, Just Books. I was also looking at the list of participants and did not notice my name or blog listed. I was wondering why. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

    P.S. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but did read the book. It was wonderful, hope they didn’t mess with it too much when they made the movie.

  3. September 2, 2009 11:58 am

    Hi Sherrie, I’m so sorry I hadn’t had you name on the list of participants. I was pretty good at adding them at the beginning of July but then I’ve neglected. I’ve add all of them now! I’ll add your link to the review page! Thanks for reading!

  4. September 2, 2009 5:38 pm

    Hi Rebecca,
    Thanks so much! I love reading about food! You never know what you’ll learn when reading about food. I have also decided to change from reading 2 books to reading 4 books. Thanks again.

    Sherrie

  5. Book Psmith permalink
    September 4, 2009 9:04 pm

    I am having so much fun with this challenge. I have finished four of my goal of six. I do have a question about two of the categories. Under autobiographies, memoirs and essays, I did not see biographies. Do biographies fall under this category or under non-fiction (which is where have placed my biography on Julia Child)? I loved Julie & Julia the movie but did not enjoy the book.

  6. September 7, 2009 9:53 pm

    Theoretically, I have finished this challenge as I said I would do the Taste (two books) and have read 4 – Homemade Life, In Defense of Food, Bread Alone, and The School of Essential Ingrediants. But I know there are more foodie books in my future so I will be sticking around. Might have to renegotiate my challenge committment šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

