Skip to content

Reviews: Fiction

If you have reviewed a fictional book for this challenge, leave a link in the comments and I’ll add it here.

Fiction for this challenge captures the significance of food in our lives by making food a main part of the story. Define this as you will: if food is important to the book, it counts!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2009 2:37 pm

    I enjoyed Like Water for Chocolate, and I’m giving away my copy! Deadline is Friday.

  2. September 4, 2009 4:09 pm

    I just read “Gourmet Rhapsody” by Muriel Barberry (author of “The Elegance of the Hedgehog”). To me it is the epitome of every thing a Spice of Life book should be. It educates us about food, takes us into the mind of the world’s greatest food critic and makes us think about food in new way. My review of the book is at
    rereadinglives.blogspot.com

  3. Book Psmith permalink
    September 4, 2009 8:59 pm

    I read The Quiche of Death by M.C. Beaton. A very good read.

    http://bookpsmith.blogspot.com/2009/09/book-reivew-quiche-of-death-by-mc.html

  4. September 12, 2009 12:06 pm

    This was my fiction review for the challenge. The Last Chinese Chef by Nicole Mones. Great book!

    http://rosecityreader.blogspot.com/2009/09/review-of-day-last-chinese-chef.html

  5. September 24, 2009 10:16 am

    I just finished a re-read of an old favorite culinary mystery by Virginia Rich. See my review at The Cooking School Murders.

  6. September 25, 2009 8:38 pm

    Please stop by for my review of Kitchen!

  7. October 2, 2009 9:05 pm

    Just finished Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote. The short story inside the same book called A Christmas Memory fits perfectly for this challenge, in which the main food is fruitcake!

  8. October 16, 2009 5:00 pm

    Another book for the challenge: A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens.

  9. October 18, 2009 2:04 am

    I just read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Not very food-inclined, but there was a roast pig.

  10. Book Psmith permalink
    October 24, 2009 10:21 pm

    This is book number six…thank you for hosting a great challenge. I had so much fun with it and read some really great books.

    http://bookpsmith.blogspot.com/2009/10/rat-update-in-which-i-reluctantly.html

  11. October 25, 2009 9:10 am

    I finished two during the readathon.

    Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto was lovely. The narrator has an affinity towards kitchens. She loves to cook.

    Gourmet Rhapsody by Muriel Barbery was perfect for this challenge. The story isn’t compelling, but the food descriptions are incomparable. The food really is the main focus of the book.

  12. November 18, 2009 6:16 pm

    The Thief Taker by Janet Gleeson
    http://lyndasbookblog.blogspot.com/2009/11/thief-taker-by-janet-gleeson.html

  13. November 24, 2009 5:40 pm

    A Time of Angels by Patricia Schonstein
    http://astripedarmchair.wordpress.com/2009/09/27/sunday-salon-the-two-for-one/#time

  14. December 14, 2009 6:43 pm

    I’ve reviewed another novel: Like Water for Chocolate by Lara Esquivel

  15. December 31, 2009 11:26 am

    I really loved The Book of Unholy Mischief by Elle Newmark.

  16. December 31, 2009 11:27 am

    I didn’t love The Recipe Club as much as other people did but it was still basically fun.

Trackbacks

  1. The Spice of Life Challenge | Books of Mee
  2. Spice of Life Challenge – caribousmom

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: